Abattoir Blues (Chief Inspector Banks, Book 22)

By Peter Robinson

Canada's ultimate, bestselling crime fiction author, Peter Robinson will get larger and higher. The twenty-second e-book within the much-loved Inspector Banks sequence -- that has offered greater than ten million copies all over the world -- will attract readers of Ian Rankin and Michael Connelly.
the tale starts with a stolen tractor, rarely a task for DCI Banks and his murder and significant Crimes group, however the new police commissioner has positioned rural crime excessive on her schedule. whilst, an obvious crime scene is chanced on in an previous hangar at an deserted global battle II airfield. moreover, neighborhood lads are lacking. one among them lives in a caravan, that's burned to the floor one evening, and the other's female friend gets an unwelcome stopover at from an individual impersonating a police officer. simply as Banks and his group are becoming a grip on these kind of incidents, a motor twist of fate in a freak hailstorm turns up a ugly discovery that spins the research into excessive apparatus. quickly it sounds as if now not even the investigators themselves are secure throughout the race opposed to time that follows.

Show description

countinue reading

Quinn (Eve Duncan)

By Iris Johansen

#1 big apple occasions bestselling writer Iris Johansen explores the darkest corners of the human middle as forensic sculptor Eve Duncan closes in at the killer who stole her daughter such a lot of years in the past.

As a former military SEAL grew to become cop, Joe Quinn has noticeable the face of evil and is familiar with simply how lethal it may be. whilst he first met Eve, he by no means anticipated to fall in love with a lady whose existence will be outlined through her twin wants to carry domestic her lacking daughter and realize the reality in the back of her disappearance―no subject how devastating. With assistance from CIA agent Catherine Ling, Quinn makes a surprising discovery that sheds new gentle on younger Bonnie's abduction and places him squarely within the crosshairs of chance. Eve's old flame, John Gallo, a soldier supposedly killed within the line of responsibility, is particularly a lot alive―and greatly a danger. Now, as their seek takes them deeper and deeper right into a internet of homicide and insanity, Joe and Eve needs to confront their so much primal fears…and try out their get to the bottom of to discover the last word bone-chilling truth.

Show description

countinue reading

Ontmaskerd (Van In, Book 17)

By Pieter Aspe

De jonge Joris Mareel zit in zijn eentje in een Blankenbergs café te kijken naar het vrolijke carnavalsgedruis rondom hem. Hij neemt niet actief deel aan het gejoel en de feestvreugde, wish eigenlijk heeft hij geen vrienden. Hij droomt wel van mooie meisjes, maar hij heeft nog nooit ook maar een schijn van kans gehad bij het andere geslacht.
Terwijl hij zijn weinig benijdenswaardige lot overpeinst, vangt hij een glimp op van Katja, het mooiste meisje van de badstad. Zij wenkt hem en als in een droom volgt hij haar naar buiten. Daar onthult zij hem een vreselijk geheim over zijn afkomst, wat Joris helemaal van zijn stuk brengt.
De volgende ochtend wordt het levenloze lichaam van de knappe jonge vrouw gevonden.

Show description

countinue reading

I Remember You: A Ghost Story

I consider You gained the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and in addition was once nominated for The Glass Key Award.

In this terrifying story, 3 neighbors started working renovating a rundown apartment in a distant, completely remoted situation. yet they quickly discover they aren't as on my own as they notion. anything desires them to depart. in the meantime, in a close-by city, a tender health professional investigating the suicide of an aged lady discovers that she used to be passionate about his vanished son. while the 2 tales collide, the stunning fact turns into horribly clear.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist in part in response to a real tale, is the scariest novel but from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has captivated the eye of readers all over the world along with her secret sequence that includes lawyer Thora Gudmundsdottir. Now, Yrsa will stun readers once more with this out-of-this-world ghost tale that might depart you shivering.

Show description

countinue reading

The Chalice of Blood: A Mystery of Ancient Ireland (Mysteries of Ancient Ireland)

By Peter Tremayne

"If there's a person who has emerged from the crowded box of medieval mysteries to take where of the overdue Ellis Peters, it truly is Peter Tremayne." --Denver put up on grasp of Souls

Ireland advert 670: while an eminent student is located murdered in his mobilephone within the Abbey of Lios Mor, worry spreads between his brethren. His door was once secured from the interior, without different technique of go out. How did the assassin break out? And what was once the content material of the manuscripts it appears stolen from the scholar's room?

Abbot Iarnla insists on sending for Sister Fidelma and her significant other Brother Eadulf to enquire the killing. yet even prior to they succeed in the abbey partitions, there's an try out on their lives. because the secret deepens, Fidelma and Eadulf should also strive against with difficulties in their personal, difficulties which threaten to split them forever...

Show description

countinue reading

The Return of Moriarty: Sherlock Holmes' Nemesis Lives Again (Pegasus Crime)

The novel that reintroduced the Napoleon of crime to the Victorian underworld―now again in print after nearly 40 years.

Once back, the sport is afoot . . .

What quite occurred in Switzerland among Moriarty and Sherlock Holmes in 1891? And why is Holmes, now in London at 221B Baker road, interestingly uncooperative with Scotland Yard’s inquiries? moreover, why has Moriarty deliberate a grand assembly with the foreign crime syndicate? those are the questions that make up the bigger secret of the sinister Professor Moriarty’s return.

Show description

countinue reading

Shame

By Alan Russell

Nominated for the Anthony and Macavity Awards for top secret Novel of the Year

Although it’s been a long time because the dying of his father—an notorious serial killer referred to as Shame—Caleb Parker nonetheless struggles to unfastened himself from his father’s darkish shadow. Caleb needs just for a regular existence with out being branded a “killer’s son,” yet his desires are shattered while a brand new string of murders surfaces which are all too akin to Shame’s bad killings.

When the police label him the best suspect, Caleb forges an not going partnership with true-crime writer Elizabeth Line, a author whose profession all started while she survived an come upon with disgrace and who then went directly to rfile his life—and demise. because the physique count number starts to pile up, Elizabeth and Caleb come to the realization that one in every of them has been particular by way of the killer, and a video game of cat and mouse starts as they struggle to discover the murderer’s identification sooner than turning into his subsequent victims.

Brutal and unapologetic, Shame attracts you into the brain of a serial killer with out likelihood of get away till the final web page is turned.

Show description

countinue reading

Odds Against

By Dick Francis

Former hotshot jockey Sid Halley landed a place with a detective supplier, merely to trap a bullet from a few penny-ante thug. Now, he has to head up opposed to a box of thoroughbred criminals--and the chances are opposed to him that he will even live on.

Show description

countinue reading

Northwest Angle: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series)

By William Kent Krueger

With his kin stuck within the crosshairs of a bunch of brutal killers, detective Cork O’Connor needs to clear up the homicide of a tender lady within the newest installment of William Kent Krueger’s unforgettable New York instances bestselling series.

With his kinfolk stuck within the crosshairs of a bunch of brutal killers, detective Cork O’Connor needs to resolve the homicide of a tender lady in William Kent Krueger’s most recent unforgettable New York instances bestseller.

During a houseboat holiday at the distant Lake of the Woods, a violent gale sweeps via without warning, stranding Cork and his daughter, Jenny, on a devastated island the place the wind has ushered in a strength a ways darker and extra lethal than any hurricane.

Amid the wreckage, Cork and Jenny notice the physique of a teenage lady. She wasn’t killed by way of the hurricane, notwithstanding; she’d been sure and tortured earlier than she died. close by, beneath a tangle of branches, additionally they discover a child boy, hungry and dehydrated, yet nonetheless greatly alive. strong forces reason on securing the kid pursue them to the remoted Northwest perspective, the place it’s very unlikely to inform who one of the citizens is in league with the satan, yet Cork is familiar with that to avoid wasting his relations he needs to clear up the puzzle of this mysterious baby whom loss of life follows like a shadow.

Show description

countinue reading

3 Truths and a Lie: A Detective D. D. Warren Story

By Lisa Gardner

In Lisa Gardner’s moment brief tale, after the New York Times bestseller The seventh Month, Detective D.D. Warren takes on her so much intimidating project but: a fifty-minute classification intended to teach a horde of bloodthirsty mystery writers at the methods of tangible police paintings. but occasionally existence quite does imitate fiction, as D.D. takes the writers throughout the truth of 1 of her so much twisted cases―a case that comprises a seedy lodge room, medicinal drugs, prostitution…and a severed leg.

With Gardner’s trademark suspense, sharp observations, and exciting storytelling, Three Truths and a Lie is an interesting bankruptcy in D.D.’s storied career.

Show description

countinue reading